Connect with us

#Anambra2013: INEC declares Willie Obiano as winner

Today's Scoops

#Anambra2013: INEC declares Willie Obiano as winner

By Segun Odeleye

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Chief Willie Obiano of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) winner of the governorship election in Anambra State.

This followed the completion of the supplementary election in the state on Saturday in areas where it did not hold on November 16. The election was however marred by the boycott by the major opposition candidates.

The Chief Returning Officer, Prof. James Epoke, who declared the result, said the APGA candidate scored 180,178 votes to win the election.

He said Mr. Tony Nwonye of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Sen. Chris Ngige of the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 97,700 and 95,963 votes to emerge second and third respectively.

Mr. Ifeanyi Ubah of the Labour Party came forth with 37,495 votes and Chief Godwin Ezeemo, candidate of Progressive Peoples Alliance clinched the fifth position with 5,120 votes.

Results from INEC showed that of the 1,776,167 registered voters in the state, 465,891 people accredited and total vote cast was 442,242.

The results also showed that 16,988 votes were voided and valid votes were 425,254.

“To declare a winner, the candidate must score 25 per cent vote in two-third of local government; having satisfied this condition, Chief Willie Obiano is now returned winner,” said Epoke.

Click to comment
To Top