Connect with us

As Tambuwal committee fails, the next hope for APC is the BoT which will be inaugurated this month

Today's Scoops

As Tambuwal committee fails, the next hope for APC is the BoT which will be inaugurated this month

The All Progressives Congress is set to inaugurate its Board of Trustees on July 20, 2015.

Calls for the creation of the board intensified following news about the brickwall which the Governor Aminu Tambuwal-led committee ran into in resolving the crisis the party faces in the national assembly where lawmakers have failed to reach an amicable solution in the fight for principal offices.

However, the party’s National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said he was not aware of any date fixed for the inauguration.

APC governors, under the aegis of the Progressives Governors’ Forum, had last week set up a committee under the chairmanship of the Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, to meet with the feuding members of the House of Representatives with a view to resolving the crisis. But the camps of Speaker Yakubu Dogara and Femi Gbajabiamila are not willing to make substantial concessions.

A member of the APC who spoke under condition of anonymity explained that traditionally disputes of this nature fall within the purview of the BoT.

This, he explained, “is because the BoT consists of experienced party men who are leaders and elders in their own right.”

He said, “This embarrassment to the party has gone on for too long. I think the BoT will be in a better position to deal with such issues.

“If you look at Article 13.2 (A) (IV) of our constitution, you will see that one of the major functions of the BoT is to deal with issues of this nature.

“It reads, ‘Act as arbitrators and mediators in disputes and ensure the enforcement of discipline in accordance with the constitution of the party.

“Like my brother Chief Audu Ogbeh said recently, we cannot afford to leave things to continue like this in the interest of our party and the Nigerian nation. Nigerians are not interested in our quarrels but solution to their problems.”

Based on the party’s constitution and the decision of the National Executive Committee, some of the party’s leading members who will be inaugurated as members of the BoT include President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, ex-Vice President Atiku Abubakar and a National Leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu,

Others are the National Chairman of the APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, all APC governors, all past governors (whether civilian or military), two senators representing each of the six geo-political zones and a member representing each state and the FCT.

Also on the list are the pioneer Chairman of APC, Chief Bisi Akande, a former National Chairman of the PDP, Chief Audu Ogbeh, another former National Chairman of PDP, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, ex-National Chairman of ANPP, Chief Ogbonnaya Onu, Prince Tony Momoh, Chief Barnabas Gemade, Alhaji Yusuf Garba Ali, Mustapha Aliyu, the National Secretary of the APC, Mallam Mai Mala Buni, and Gen. Ahmed Aboki (retd.)

Others are ex-Speakers and Deputy Speakers of the House of Representatives including Ghali Na’aba, Patricia Etteh, Agunwa Anaekwe, Bayero Nafada, and Chibudom Nwuche.

iWrite, iReview and iReport, what more can iSay?

Click to comment

Latest Posts



To Top