Connect with us

A university don, veteran journalist, ex-soldier… These are the people Buhari nominated as INEC commissioners

Today's Scoops

A university don, veteran journalist, ex-soldier… These are the people Buhari nominated as INEC commissioners

After dragging foot for so long and more than a year after the tenures of some national commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) ended, President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday finally forwarded the names of six national commissioner nominees to the senate.

Buhari also forward five nominees for the positions of national commissioners of the National Population Commission.

Buhari’s letter came two days after the Senate passed a resolution calling gonna the president to fill the vacant roles in INEC.

More than 20 states in the federation currently do not have resident electoral commissioners as well and Nigerians would be hoping the president fills those roles as well.

Below are the names of the nominees for INEC national commissioner, with one from each geopolitical zone (H/T: Premium Times):

  1. Okechukwu Ibeanu, a professor of political science and former Dean, Social Sciences, at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka from Anambra representing South East.

  2. May I. Agbamuche-Mbu, a 1984 University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) law graduate and member of Presidential Projects Assessment Commitee (2010-2011) from Delta State representing member South South.

  3. Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu, a retired Air Vice Marshall from Gombe State representing North East.

  4. Mohammed Haruna, a 65-year-old veteran journalist from Niger State representing North Central.

  5. Adekunle Ogunmola, fomer provost of Emmanuel Alayande College of Education, Oyo, and Lagos State REC from Oyo State representing South West.

  6. Abubakar Nahuche, an engineer with working experience at the Nigerian Army and the Nigerian Telecommunication Ltd as CEO (2007-2008), from Zamfara State representing North West).

The nominations had earlier been approved by the National Council of State.

Those nominated to serve as commissioners of the NPC are:

  1. Benedict Ukpong, former deputy governorship candidate of All Progressives Congress in Akwa Ibom State.

  2. Gloria Izonfuo, a nurse and former head of civil service from Bayelsa State.

  3. Kupchi Iyanya, a lawyer from Benue State.

  4. Haliru Bala, a lecturer at the Kebbi State Polytechnic with Ph.D. from Obafemi Awolowo University, representing Kebbi State.

  5. Eyitayo Oyetunji, Ph.D. holder from Oyo State.

The names of the five NPC nominees were also approved by the Council of State.

Click to comment
To Top