Connect with us

From Wike to Fayose to Buhari: Silverbird ensured a broad spread of winners for its 2017 awards


From Wike to Fayose to Buhari: Silverbird ensured a broad spread of winners for its 2017 awards

Silverbird, the media company owned by Bayelsa PDP Sen. Ben Murray-Bruce has announced the winners of the 2017 edition of its yearly awards.

The governor of Rivers state, Nyesom Wike, emerged as the Man of the Year at the end of voting by members of the public. He defeated two other governors – Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun and Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto. Two other nominees on the list of five were: Nigerian businessman Abdul Samad Rabiu, and a Human Right Acivist, Dr. Joe Okei Odumakin.

Interesting list of awardees:

Apart from the Man of the year Awards which is voted for by the public, there are several other awards to be given by the company which were no selected via voting. The list of awardees as made for a very interesting mix covering different political parties and regions.  However, unlike last year’s award, the 2017 list was mostly filled with politicians.

  • Ayodele Fayose, the PDP governor of Ekiti will receive the Silverbird man of the People Award. (This waward did not exist last year).
  • Seriake Dickson, the PDP governor of Bayelsa (Murray-Bruce’s home state) will receive the Silverbird Education Award. (This award did not exist last year)
  • Aisha Buhari, the wife of the president will receive the Silverbird Personality of the Year. (This award did not exist last year).
  • Four people – Deji Ali, Leo Stan Ekeh, Ola Orekunrin and Alhaji Samad Rabiu – will receive the Silverbird Extra Ordinary Business Award.
  • Four people – Chief Abba Folawiyo , Senator Daisy Danjuma, Lady Maiden Ibru and Stella Chinyelu Okoli – will receive the Silverbird Lifetime Achievement Award. Last year this award was won by former Governor of Lagos State, Alhjai Lateef Jakande, Veteran Fashion Designer Opral Benson, entrepreneur Oba Otudeko, Lulu Briggs, and former Governor of Kaduna State, Balarabe Musa.
  • Three people – Chief MKO Abiola, Dim Emeka Odumegwu Ojukwu and Dr. Abubakar Olusola Saraki (father of the senate president) – will receive the Silverbird Post Humous Award. Last year, this was won by former Premier of the old Western Region, Chief Ladoke Akintola Williams, former Governor of the old Eastern Region, Akanu Ibiam, the only Prime Minister of Independent Nigeria, Tafawa Balewa, second republic Governor of Rivers State, Melford Okilo and former Deputy Head of State, Major Gen. Tunde Idiagbon (Retd).
  • A Nigerian businessman and CEO of Chagoury Group, Ronald Chagoury -will receive the Silverbird Extra Ordinary Personality Award. This was won last year by the duo of former Governor of Lagos State Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and the first Chartered Accountant in Africa, Chief Akintola Williams.
  • The Silverbird Special Achievement Award will go to the duo of CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele and the APC Governor of Kebbi state, Abubakar Bagudu. Last year, the winners were writer and novelist, Chimamanda Adichie, Environmentalist, Desmond Majekodunmi, and Founder BenTV, Alistair Soyode.
  • The Silverbird Legislative Award will go to the Deputy Senate President, Sen. Ike Ekweremadu (PDP) and the House Majority leader, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila (APC).
  • The Silverbird Public Servant Award goes to Babatunde Fowler.

Click to comment
To Top