Connect with us

Nigeria, here are your 2019 presidential candidates


Nigeria, here are your 2019 presidential candidates

The past weekend was busy for political parties across Nigeria as most of them conducted their presidential primary elections to elect the candidates who will represent them at the 2019 polls.

While many paid attention to the primaries conducted by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC), other parties such as Social Democratic Party (SDP), and Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), among others, also elected and presented their presidential candidates.

We are still waiting on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to release the final list, but below are the 21 candidates we are aware of so far.

Peoples Democratic Party

The former Vice-President of Nigeria Atiku Abubakar emerged as the winner of the PDP presidential primaries held in Port Harcourt on Saturday. For Atiku, this win has been a long-time coming having contested and lost in two straight presidential primaries before Saturday. Atiku was the candidate of the Action Congress (AC) in 2007, but in 2011 and 2015, he lost in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) primary to Goodluck Jonathan, and the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary to Muhammadu Buhari respectively.

All Progressives Congress (APC)

Thousands of members of All Progressives Congress (APC) gathered at the Eagle Square in Abuja, on Saturday to affirm President Muhammadu Buhari as their candidate for the 2019 presidential elections.

Following a week of contentious state primaries, the APC convention was not quite devoid of a little dispute. The number of votes the incumbent president polled is the subject of controversy. According to the APC, Pres. Buhari received 14.8 million votes, a number slightly less than the total number of votes he polled at the general elections in 2015. The president’s performance at the APC primaries appears suspicious and most analysts have written it off as an attempt to intimidate contenders from other parties.

The Other Contenders

The former Education Minister and active campaigner for the Bring Back Our Girls movement (BBOG), Oby Ezekwesili, declared her candidacy and revealed that she will be running under the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN). She delivered a fiery speech at her party’s convention in Abuja on Sunday.

Meanwhile, the Social Democratic Party (SDP) will be represented by former Cross River Governor, Donald Duke.

Other candidates who have emerged to lead their parties to the 2019 presidential polls include: Former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Prof. Kingsley Moghalu will represent the Young Progressives Party (YPP); the Publisher of Sahara Reporters, Mr. Omoyele Sowore will be representing the African Action Congress (AAC), and motivational speaker Fela Durotoye, will be representing the Alliance for a New Nigeria (ANN).

Hon. Edozie Madu will represent the Independent Democrat Party (ADP); Prof. Nwangwu will be representing the We the People of Nigeria Party (WPNP); Ahmed Buhari will be representing the Sustainable National Party (SNP); Mr. Tope Fasua will represent the Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party (ANRP); while Mr. Ade Fagbenro Bryon will represent Kowa Party (KP)

Additional contenders for the 2019 polls include: Former Ondo governor, Olusegun Mimiko, who will represent the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP); Ms. Eunice Atuejide for the National Interest Party (NIP); Alister Soyode for YES PARTY; Dr. Davidson Akhimien will represent the Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria (GDPN); Moses Shipi will represent All Blending Party (ABP); Alhaji Yahaya Ndu will represent the African Renaissance Party (ARP); Mr. Sunday Chukwu-Eguzolugo represents Justice Must Prevail Party (JMPP); Hamisu Santuraki will represent Mega Party of Nigeria (MPN); and Mr. Fidelis Akhahomen will represent the Young Democratic Party (YDP).

Click to comment

Latest Posts



To Top