Connect with us

Four APC lawmakers defect

Today's Scoops

Four APC lawmakers defect

Four members of the House of Representatives have defected from the leading All Progressive Congress (APC) to other political parties.

Backstory: The House of Representative members who defected were:  Dada Awoleye (Oyo), Segun Williams (Ogun), Lawali Hassan and Adedapo Lam-Adesina (Oyo), announced their defections on Tuesday.

Awoleye defected to the Accord Party, while Williams, Hassan, and Lam-Adesina defected to Labour Party (LP), Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Action Democratic Congress (ADC), respectively.

This update comes weeks after lawmakers from the Senate and House of Representative defected from the ruling party.

Bottom Line: The deadline set by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the withdrawal and replacement of National Assembly candidates is November 17th. As it draws nearer, there is likely to be some more defections by candidates hoping to pick up tickets from the parties they are defecting to.

Click to comment
To Top