Connect with us

Oyetola sworn in as new Osun governor

Today's Scoops

Oyetola sworn in as new Osun governor

The winner of the September 22 governorship election in Osun State and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Gboyega Oyetola was inaugurated on Tuesday as governor.

Oyetola officially took over from his predecessor, Rauf Aregbesola, in the State’s capital, Osogbo, where he was sworn-in by the Chief Judge of the state.

Oyetola who ran under the All Progressives Alliance party had garnered 255,505 votes to defeat his main rival, Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 255,023 votes.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, who stood in for President Muhammadu Buhari.

Other guests included APC governors: Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos, Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti, Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo, and Yayaha Bello of Kogi.

The National Chairman and the National Leader of the APC, Adams Oshiomole and Bola Tinubu were also present. Traditional rulers like the Ooni of Ife, Adeyeye Ogunwusi and Alafin of Oyo, Lamidi Adeyemi were also present at the event.

Bottom Line: Notwithstanding the disputes that followed the Osun gubernatorial elections and a pending case in court, Oyetola has been sworn in, much to the dissatisfaction of Senator Adeleke and the PDP. A court hearing for the petition filed by Senator Adeleke challenging Oyetola’s win been scheduled for December 5th and until then, Osun State has got a new sheriff.

Click to comment
To Top