Connect with us

Buhari and Tinubu to co-chair APC Presidential Campaign Council; Dangote named as adviser


Buhari and Tinubu to co-chair APC Presidential Campaign Council; Dangote named as adviser

A State House press release signed on Friday by Femi Adesina, the spokesman to the president, announced the members of the Buhari/Osinbajo Campaign Council. The president will chair the Council, while APC national leader, Bola Tinubu will serve as co-chair. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and APC national chairman Adams Oshiomhole are the deputy chairmen, while minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, retains his role as campaign director-general.

The list mostly comprised of the usual suspects, but there were a few surprising names.

  1. Senator A.O. Mamora, who is reprising his 2015 role as deputy DG of the campaign in charge of operations. Few months ago, Mamora rejected an appointment as the Chairman of the Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre. At the time, he reportedly did not think that the position was befitting considering the role he played in Buhari’s election win. He had earlier been nominated for an ambassadorial role but was replaced without explanation.
  2. Aliko Dangote, who was named in a seven-man special advisory committee to the president, alongside VP Osinbajo, Tinubu, Oshiomhole, the majority leaders of the senate and House of Reps, Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila, and Femi Otedola. There have been reports that Dangote is sympathetic to the aspirations of PDP presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

Hadiza Bala Usman, the MD of the Nigeria Ports Authority (NPA), who has taken a very hard-line stance against a company linked to the PDP presidential candidate was also named as the Director of Contact and Mobilization.

Missing Names: Interesting that the chief of staff to the president, Abba Kyari, does not feature on the list. Kyari is believed to be the one calling a lot of the shots in the Buhari administration. Just as in 2015 however, he is not in the team tasked with running the reelection campaign. Possibly why first lady, Aisha Buhari, keeps emphasising that a few people who contributed little or nothing in the 2015 campaign now run the show in her husband’s government.

Another missing name is that of President Buhari’s long-time confidante, Hameed Ali, who is theComptroller-General of the Customs Service and leads the Buhari Support Organisation.

See list below:

Chairman – President Muhammadu Buhari

Co-chairman – Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu


1.   The Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo.

2.   The APC National Chairman Comrade Adams Oshiomole 


Senator George Akume


Senator Ken Nnamani 


His Excellency, Rt. Hon. Rotimi Amaechi 


Senator A.O. Mamora 


Arch. Waziri Bulama


1.   Adamu Adamu

2.   Dele Alake 


a.   North West: Senator Aliyu M. Wamakko

b.  North East: Senator Muh’d Ali Ndume

c.    North Central: Senator Abdullahi Adamu

d.  South West: Sola Oke, SAN

e.   South East: Sharon Ikeazor

f.     South South: Senator Godswill Akpabio


a.            Director,  Buhari Support Groups – Dr. Mahmoud Mohammed

b.           Director,  Strategic Communications – Festus Keyamo, SAN

Deputy Director- Abike Dabiri- Erewa

c.            Director, Contact & Mobilization –  Hadiza Bala Usman

Deputy Director South -Victor Eboigre

Deputy Director North- Senator Bashir Nalado

d.           Director, Election Planning & Monitoring – Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN

Deputy Director I-  Baba Kura Abba Jato

Deputy Director II-Chief Emani Ayiri

e.            Director, Logistics – Dr. Pius Odubu

Deputy Director- Senator Umanah Umanah

Deputy Director II- Nasiru Danu

f.             Director, Policy Research & Strategy- Prof Abdulrahman  Oba

Deputy Director- Prof. A.K. Usman

g.            Director, Youth Mobilization- Hon. Tony Nwoye assisted by the APC Youth Leader , Sadiq

Deputy Director North- Barrister Ismaeel Ahmed

Deputy Director South –  Jasper Azuatalam

h.           Director, Admin- Onari Brown

Deputy Director I- Chris Hassan

Deputy Director II- Abubakar Magaji Gasau

i.              Director,  Women Mobilization- Woman Leader Salamatu Baiwa

Deputy Director North – Binta Mu’azu

Deputy Director South – Adejoke Orelope Adefulire

j.               Director Security – Gen. A. . Dambazzau

Deputy Directors – Brigadier General Gambo and Mr. U. Ukoma

k.           Director Legal – Emeka Ngige, SAN

Deputy Director- Prof. Maman Lawan Yusufari

l.              Director Field Opertaions- Mallam Nuhu Ribadu

M.   Director Finance- Wale Edun

        Deputy Director- Alhaji Adamu Fadan


1.   Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

2.   Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu

3.   Senator Ahmed Lawan (Senate Leader)

4.   Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila( Leader of the House )

5.   APC Party National Chairman  Comrade Adams Oshiomole

6.   Alhaji  Aliko Dangote.

7.   Mr. Femi Otedola


1.   Chief Bisi Akande

2.   Chief John Oyegun

3.   Senator Ita Enang

4.   All APC serving Senators

5.   All APC serving and former Governors

6.   All APC Members of the House of Representatives

7.   All members of the National Working Committee of the APC

8.   All Zonal Women Leaders


1. Governors are to serve as State Coordinators in their respective states

2. Gubernatorial Candidates in non- APC States will serve as State Coordinators in their respective states

Click to comment
To Top