Connect with us

Ondo flips as Atiku defeats Buhari in the state


Ondo flips as Atiku defeats Buhari in the state

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, received the majority of votes in Ondo state ahead of President Muhammadu Buhari, the candidate of the ruling party All Progressives Congress (APC).

How it happened: The presiding officer, Professor Kayode Soremekun, announced Atiku as winner in Ondo state as he polled 275, 901 votes compared to Buhari’s 241, 769 votes.

The PDP won in 11 local government areas which include: Akure North, Ifedore, Idanre, Ile Oluji/Okeigbo, Irele, Ondo East, Ose, Ondo West, Akure South, Ese Odo and Okitipupa, while the APC won 7 local government areas which include: Akoko North East, Akoko North West and Akoko South East, Akoko South West, Odigbo, Ilaje and Owo.

Issues: The results shows records of over-voting, violence, electoral staff and voters’ intimidation, failure of card readers and total disruption of the electoral process across 80 polling units which led to cancellation of voting in those polling units.

Breakdown of results:
Total accredited voters: 598,586
Total votes cast: 586,827
Rejected votes: 30,833

Akoko North East
APC 15,598
PDP 11,641

Akoko North West
APC 14,158
PDP 13, 950

Akoko South East
APC 7,306
PDP 6,616

Akure North
APC 8661
PDP 12,786

APC 8453
PDP 14,704

APC 9433
PDP 11745

Ileoluji Okeigbo
APC 10404
PDP 12680

APC 10082
PDP 12862

Ondo East
APC 5299
PDP 8455

APC 10321
PDP 12919

APC 18,322
PDP 13,375

APC 17,017
PDP 22,370

Akure South
APC 25,177
PDP 37,040

Akoko South West
APC 21,592
PDP 16,469

APC 19,523
PDP 16,608

APC 17,455
PDP 14,421

Ese Odo
APC 9,530
PDP 12,005

Ondo West
APC 13,448
PDP 25,255

Bottom line: With this victory, the Sunshine State has flipped to the side of the main opposition party. PDP’s victory is a setback for the APC which won in 2015 with 48,521 votes. The state recorded lower number of accredited voters in 2019 with 598,586 when compared to the 2015’s 618,040 recorded accredited voters. PDP’s victory in Ondo is offset by its loss to the APC in Ekiti state, a state which it won in 2015. The APC also won in Osun.

Click to comment
To Top