Connect with us

More (ex)governors make their way to senate as Okorocha, Amosun, Kalu, Nnamani win


More (ex)governors make their way to senate as Okorocha, Amosun, Kalu, Nnamani win

Despite a couple of upsets, it appears that the senate’s track record as the favorite retirement ground for ex-governors is set to continue. Outgoing governors of Imo and Ogun, Rochas Okorocha and Ibikunle Amosun have both won their bids for the senate on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC). They will be joined by two governors who left office in 2007 – Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia, APC) and Ken Nnamani (Enugu, PDP).

Orji Kalu who served two terms as governor of Abia state from 1999 – 2007 under the PDP was declared winner of Abia North Senatorial District in Saturday’s presidential and National Assembly elections. He polled 31,203 votes to defeat incumbent Senator, Mao Ohuabunwa of the PDP and David Ogba of the APC who got 20,801 and 11,410 votes respectively.

Incumbent senator Ohuabunwa rejects result: “It has come to our knowledge that INEC operatives in their haste to arrive at a pre-determined conclusion manipulated the electoral process to the shock of all well meaning patriots who believe in democracy,” he said, while calling on the Abia INEC REC to cancel the elections completely.

Ogun governor Ibikunle Amosun also secured a seat to represent Ogun Central in the senate under the ruling APC. Amosun has served two terms as governor of Ogun state from 2011 till date, and was previously a senator between 2003 – 2011 before becoming governor. He secured 88,110 votes at the polls defeating Solomon Sanyaolu of the PDP, who got 33,276 votes.

Former Enugu governor Chimaraoke Nnamani won the Enugu East senatorial seat on the PDP platform in a landslide. He polled 128,843 votes to defeat the APC candidate, Prince Lawrence Eze, who got 14,225 votes.

In Imo, Governor Rochas Okorocha, was declared as winner having defeated Jones Onyereri of the PDP. Okorocha got 97,762 votes while Onyereri got 63,117 votes.

Bottom Line: Apart from these ones, there are other former governors already in the senate who will be returning like Kabiru Gaya in Kano. However, there have been a few upsets as well, as we reported earlier, in Gombe, Oyo and Kwara.

Click to comment
To Top